Final Race Report: Maui Half Marathon

Warrior Challenge Done

I woke up at 3:45 am and felt pretty blah. I am not going to lie. For a good 15 minutes I contemplated not running today. My Achilles was really sore and pretty much told me she hated me. Whatever. After walking around and stretching I talked myself into it as long as I promised myself to take it easy. And that’s just what I did.

The Race

I made it to the start around 5 am. It was dark and warm, close to 70 degrees. There was a fun warm-up led by a local instructor and a fire dancer that put on a show! So cool. The race went off at 5:30 am sharp!

I know this is confusing because it says finish. I promise this was the start!

This race started in Kaanapali, ย went out 6.55 miles through Lahaina then turned around and went back. Pretty flat out and back along the coast. AWESOME!

Hello runners!

It was so weird to be running it pitch black! The only light was the glow of Garmins and the moon shining off of the ocean. I hit the water station at mile 1, grabbed a cup and strolled through. When I say strolled I mean strolled. Pretty sure I was singing along with Katy Perry. The rest of my race was pretty similar. I stopped at every water station said a little prayer, BS’d with volunteers, ran with a really nice lady from Seattle, stopped at the turn around and sipped powerade and stared at the ocean. Could I have been any more ridiculously chill? My Achilles was hurting and my goal was to finish and get that warrior medal baby. I didn’t have a care in the world about that darn clock.

Around mile 10 I saw a girl that I met yesterday. This was her first half and she was run walking. I stopped to say hi to her and cheer her on. I hit up a porta pottie around mile 11 (must have been the powerade) and then cruised in. My watch lost GPS around mile 3 so I was clueless to what my time would be. I was certain it would be over 2 hours. I rounded the corner home and crossed the finish line in 1:51:xx. I’ll take it!

It was really cool to get recognized for the Warrior Challenge and receive a medal for it. ย I think my combined time for all 3 races was around 2:20! I would for sure take this challenge again but would do the full instead of the half. Oh and if possible I would do it 100% healthy!

I would recommend that everyone get involved in this challenge at least once. Its small, laid back and really welcoming to runners of all ages and abilities. The volunteers were really nice and it just felt like a lot of small town road races in a beautiful place. I have never heard of a challenge like this on the mainland so it’s an excuse to vacay in Maui, right?!?

Now it’s time to get this darn Achilles back to 100%!

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Final Race Report: Maui Half Marathon

  1. Congratulations! That’s a great finish, considering your sore Achilles. (and faster than any half I’ve ever finished!) enjoy the rest of your trip!

  2. I love this recap….that picture of the start looks crazy!!! I can’t imagine beginning a run in pitch black but I guess it would’ve been interesting. I would LOVE to take on this challenge one day in the future and the fact I love hawaii has nothing to do /w it I swear. Congrats ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. What a cool group of races! And how rad to be able to say you’re a warrior! I have so much respect for you powering through and finishing like a champ even though your achilles was being a punk.
    I seriously think you should sign up for this again… But next time you should definitely be heathly and take me with you!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. You are SO back in the game!! between this and your hot-bod 1 miler, you rock this September. And your pictures of Maui are beautiful.

    I have only had to stop and a use a bathroom once while racing, and it SUCKs! it’s mentally sad to lose that time….darn digestive system

  5. You did GREAT girlie!! We ate at Bubba Gump and I saw your name on the results! I was soo happy for you!! YAY YAY!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    My hubby and I are talking about coming out again next year. I think I’d love to do the Warrior Challenge! Sounds like a lot of fun! Did you hear about the young boy who had to receive medical attn.?? We came out to watch the 1 mile challenge… (I was hoping to spot you!)

    Looks like you had a blast!! ๐Ÿ™‚ We love Maui and were sad to leave but, happy to see our kids! We sure missed them!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Ahhh I wish I would have found you! We watched all of the kids races, they were so cute. I didn’t hear about the young boy. I hope he is ok! Did you see the elite women that ran with the 18-39 open? The girl with the long ponytail was only 15!!! HOLY SMOKES! Sub 6 min at 15? She is going to be faaasssttttt!

      I am thinking about coming back again next year too! This was really fun. I do miss the kids and homecooked meals!!

  6. The boy was ok. We waited until the EMT arrived. He insisted that he was alright but, they still wanted to admit him. Which I’m glad they did! Better safe than sorry!!

    We missed the elite women. Sounds like that girl will be one that’ll be gracing covers of RunnersWorld in a few years! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy the rest of your time in Maui with your hunny!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

