San Dieguito Half Marathon Recap

“Getting what you want is not near as important as giving what you have” – Tom Krause

~

I arrived at San Dieguito Park around 6:40 on Sunday morning. I  lucked out and was able to park in the lot close to the start line.

IMG_1928

It was cool and cloudy- perfect running weather. I picked up my bib, used the portapotties (no line!) and then started the 10 minute walk to the start line.

IMG_1931

After catching up with a friend from college (he is crazy fast) I took my place at the start and was ready to go. It started to sprinkle and I crossed my fingers that we would not end up in the midst of a downpour.

The national anthem was sung and then the gun went off. Time to do work.

The first mile or so was a slight downhill. It’s easy to go out fast so I tried to find that comfortable yet slightly hard pace that I thought I might be able to hang on to.

Mile 1: 7:25

Ok, probably too fast. My original goal for this race was to run a 7:30-7:35 average. I knew it was hilly but had forgotten how hard this course actually is. I was quickly reminded as we started the first big climb at mile 1.5. We went from 14 feet to 300 feet in elevation. At that point I figured if I could stay in the high 7’s I would be lucky!

Mile 2: 7:37

Mile 3: 8:00

After mile 3 the course started to roll. I started to feel warm and knew I could run sub 8’s, even in the hills. I would have to run my uphills smart and take advantage of the downhill. I was determined not to let my pace increase to 8’s unless it was during a climb.

Mile 4: 7:18

Mile 5: 7:40

Mile 6: 7:47

Mile 7:  7:51

Once we hit mile 7 I knew we had some flat and that the turn around was approaching. I knew I could make up time on the flat

Mile 8: 7:21

Mile 9: 7:28 (at this mile a young volunteer yelled out you’re in the top 25 of all females. I figured she had to be nuts!)

At mile 10 we hit another solid climb and then had a sweet decline before heading up once again at mile 12-13. Yeesh!

Mile 10:  7:59

Mile 11: 7:15

Mile 12: 7:28

Mile 13: 7:45 (the last climb just felt cruel)

When we made the right turn to head toward the finish I could hear the announcer and kicked it into gear. I knew I was going to be able to break 1:40. I GAVE IT MY ALL…

Last .10 6:45 pace

Finish 1:39:46, 7:36 avg.

143/1094 (small race)

24th Female

3rd in AG Awards! (Technically 4th in my AG but the 2nd female was in my AG so she received a top 3 finisher award)

I crossed that finish line and teared up a little. My purple tank was drenched in sweat. The bible verses on my hands were smeared. My legs were quivering. I freaking did it. 2 weeks post marathon I pulled a PR out of my hiney. With each uphill that felt so ridiculously hard I reminded myself that I was lucky to be able to do it.

Take that hills.

elevationSDHM

As I gained my composure I quickly looked for my family. I couldn’t wait to see them light up. My inlaws have never seen me race and my husband never misses one. He loves celebrating PRs with me!

After a few minutes of not being able to find anyone I pulled out my phone to call. It was then that I saw the text that my MIL was not having a good morning and they stayed home. I said a little prayer for her and texted back letting them know I did it. I broke 1:40 on a tough course and just like Mimi I refused to give up. We had a little celebration when I got home 🙂

IMG_1940

I am so proud of myself. I feel like I am finally coming into my own as a runner. I have found what works for me and I have stopped being afraid to just go for it. Man it is so awesome! Not every race will be a PR, but one thing that is certain I will give it my all each time. Heart and soul my friends. All heart and lots of soul.

My friend PrettyFittie had a big fat PR on Sunday too. So glad I got to see her do it! Congrats Ash!

IMG_1939

Winner of the StrideBox giveaway will be anounced tomorrow! GOOOOOOD LUCK!

17 thoughts on “San Dieguito Half Marathon Recap

  1. Yay! You look so cute in that picture with the medal and the race shirt on! Congrats on the AG award (whether it’s 3rd or 4th, it doesn’t matter!). Those hills look pretty mean, too!

  2. Wonderful job, great recap! I’m sorry your MIL didn’t get to be there at the finish. I hope that she is feeling better for the rest of their visit!

  3. I’m a newbie runner and new to your blog as well 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing this…especially your thoughts during the race. I cannot even imagine being able to run non-stop for that length of time right now, but I will get there.

  4. My favorite, favorite re-cap/post of yours…by far!! I know how much this race, PR must mean to you. I feel you!! 🙂

    All the hill work you’re doing is paying off! You’re having a GREAT racing year so far (poppin’ out PR’s like it’s no thang!!), AND we’re ONLY in the 2nd month of the year. I’m happy that you’re finding what works for you. CONGRATS on a well-run race my friend. Your MIL is still in my prayers. Your family must be so proud of you! Looking forward to celebrating with you soon. 🙂 xo

  5. You killed it! I love that they excluded the top 3 from the AG awards – I wish all races did that.

    Those splits are so obvious that they are through hills. Huge 30-40 second swings in pace – sounds tough but not too crazy. I’ll have to do it one of these years!

  6. Congrats! I just found your blog by searching for something about San Dieguito because I was out there spectating on Sunday. It’s funny because I was writing a post about how watching people finish this race made me want to go for a sub 1:40 there next year!

Leave a Reply

