Home Sweet Home

First and foremost: Thank you to each of you for your kind words regarding the health of my MIL (and my race effort). I have read every comment (some of you made me cry in a good way) and I am overwhelmed at the amount of support. There is a blessing that comes out of each trial we face and I know that HE has a plan. Enduring the ups and downs will not be easy but with family and friends like you I know our family get through it. 

Second: I apologize that I have not been able to respond you each of your comments yet. Please forgive me. Travel to Texas, time with family, doctor visits and then trying to get back to CA has all been kind of a blur. I am home now and gathering my thoughts has been difficult. I feel like I am at a loss for words and for those of you that have met me you know I am a talker. I will make time this weekend to get back to each of you. Thank you for being patient with me.

And now to try to make a long story short…

~

Our Travels

We left for Tejas at the butt crack of dawn last Saturday. We had a quick layover in Denver and made it to Amarillo with no problem. We were greeted by my BILs, SILs, grandparents, cousins, nephews. You name it. FAM-I-LY. On Sunday we attended Trinity Baptist (my in laws home church) and met a spectacular group of people. I am not sure if I shared this with you all but when my MIL was diagnosed 2 weeks ago her Sunday School group asked her what she needed. She said that seeing her grand babies was it. Well they turned around and raised the money within 48 hours to fly my family to Texas. We are forever indebted to them for their kindness. I still can’t believe that they did that for us. It speaks volumes. VOLUMES. We took family photos that afternoon and then called it a night as treatment was scheduled to start Monday morning.

At 9:45 a.m my MIL checked in to oncology and was there until after 4 p.m. Talk about a long day. They hit her with the most aggressive treatment possible which ended up being 6 bags of fluid (if I recall right it was 5 of chemo, 1 of calcium/vitamin D). She then had a pump hooked up and chemo was slowly administered for 46 more hours. So she basically had 2.5 days of chemo. INSANE. The good news is that the doctor called the cancer “unimpressive” and feels that her odds are better than average. With this type of cancer (pancreatic) that is HUGE. We don’t know how the cancer will react to this treatment but what we do know is attitude is everything. To me unimpressive means she has a fighting chance. Break out the boxing gloves, my MIL is ready to go 12 rounds! 

On Tuesday we just spent time together and watched the NBA finals. A huge storm rolled in bringing thunder, rain wind and crazy hail. All of the weather ended up resulting in a loooong trip home on Wednesday. I am talking 12 hours long. I cannot believe my 2 little ones did not completely melt down. They were travel champs. 12 hours. It makes me want to barf thinking about it.

So now we sit and wait. And pray.

~

Home Sweet Home

Being back home is good. The beach brings peace and serenity. I am allowing myself to recover physically (from Ojai) and emotionally. I have only run twice in the past 2 weeks and am itching to get back to it.  

I registered for a 15k on the 4th of July that is a lot of fun. I think I will use it as a tempo since  it is time to start training for Chicago! Woohoo! I hope you all are ready for my crazy training posts. Train smart race hard. Time to make Chi town my “PR” race. Whadda ya think about that? Boom. Time to do work.

Okey dokey that’s it for tonight. I need to get some shut-eye so I can be ready for yoga tomorrow morning with the sister. That’s right. She’s coming with. So.much.fun.

18 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Glad your trip was well spent with family and you made it back safe. I can speak from experience with this stuff (Pan Cancer) having just gone through it with my dad, as he lost his battle. “unimpressive” is such a great word and sounds like she is doing what she can to fight this stuff. Thinking and praying for you all. And wow, brought tears to my eyes that the church raised that money to get you guys out there. People really do care about each other 🙂 Hugs!

    1. Ahh thank you! I can’t tell you how good “unimpressive” made us feel! Like we had the upper hand and I think that’s huge.

      Their church is amazing. I love my church but when we went to Trinity there was a strong sense of community the minute we walked through the door. God does great work through his people and they are proof!

      Hugs back at you my friend!

  2. Love you and have been praying for you ALL nightly!! I know I’m to many miles away and have been on vacation but you guys have not left my thoughts and prayers. Please add Grandma to your prayers, she was diagnosed with breast cancer and the treatments that they have been trying aren’t working as well as they hoped. So she goes in for surgery next week. I didn’t want to tell you earlier cuz you have a million of other things on your mind. But I love you and miss you all soooooooo much!! I will call you this weekend,. xoxo

    1. Glad you made it home! I’ll call you this weekend 🙂

      Grandma is in our prayers. We will also pray for the doctors and medical staff to be uplifted and guided through a successful surgery. She is going to be a-ok. Did you know my grandma G is a breast cancer survivor? Not sure if you remember us going through that.

      Love ya!

      1. Thanks momma! Yes I remember and Grandma has fought breast cancer once and colon cancer. She’s a pro at beating this stuff. Talk to you soon, xoxo.

  3. So glad to read an update and hear that your trip was nothing short of a blessing. I know those long hours and days of chemo all too well, and the “going 12 rounds” attitude is perfect for that. Go, SURVIVOR, Go! (and BTW- we became survivors when we first heard the word “cancer”…tell your warrior-MIL)
    I am so thankful that we serve a God who is bigger than cancer. I drew so much strength during my year of treatment (and still do) by BELIEVING that God is not startled by anything. Nothing is taking Him by surprise, and He’s got this. And He’s got your sweet MIL, too…right in the palm of His hand. Still praying and believing BIG things for her and your family. ❤

    Mark 5:36
    Jer. 29:11

    1. Erica thank you so very much. You are right. We serve and AWESOME God. We have placed all of our faith and trust in his hands. It is amazing to see him work through the doctors and the nurses in the oncology center. When the doc said “unimpressive” we thought “Heck yes! Cancer has nothing on HIM. He’s got this.”

      Thank you for sharing those verses. I know my hubby’s great aunt just posted bible verses all around the house and I am going to pass these on just in case she missed them. xoxo

  4. I missed reading your thoughts and just your hilarious take on life, but I’m so glad that you got to spend time with your family! Will keep praying. That’s so awesome that you’re not the only warrior mom in your family! I’m sure she’ll spring back from all of this and be such an inspiration to all of us! Can’t wait to read your training posts and thoughts! P.S. Your kids rock for being so patient with 12 hours of travel! They deserve some froyo or something 🙂 (of course, you deserve tons of it too!)

  5. Nicole, I was sorry to hear the news about your MIL. I am so happy that you all were able to fulfill her wish, and make it to Texas to be with her during this very freightening time for all of you. What a blessing for her to have such a wonderful community surrounding her. I will keep your family in my prayers.

  6. So sorry to hear about your mother in law. My dad is actually fighting cancer as well and is in his third round of chemo. He also gets his chemo one day in the doctor’s office and then he gets hooked up for 2 more days and carries his little fanny pack around. From watching my dad, I can tell you that it all about the attitude so try to keep her positive and encourage her to have faith and she will beat this. My dad still works part time and refuses to sit home and let the cancer take over his life so make sure she stays as active as her body can tolerate and her doctor will allow. The chemo takes a beating on a person so it is tough sometimes. Every patient handles it differently but the support from her family will be very important!! I will be thinking of your family and praying for you and please do the same for my dad as well. Hang in there and keep the faith!

  7. Praying for you & your family. You are so right about a positive attitude being so important! Keep your head up – you are strong & it sounds like your MIL is too 🙂

  8. Hi, I’ve been reading your blog for awhile now and felt compelled to say hi and let you know that I am thinking of you and your family and all that you are going through. Please know that there are people out there that you may not know, but are praying for you.

Leave a Reply

