Running Lessons Learned On The Island

Why Running In Maui Is Awesome

Running in Hawaii has been a great experience. There were so many little things that I learned during my time here that helped me to improve as a runner. Here are just a few…

1. The Weather: It will make me or break me

The heat, wind and humidity can be intense on the islands. One minute the sun is beaming, the next it’s raining and windy. This week the weather stayed in the 80’s and was pretty darn humid. I am not used to running in this weather and it was much harder than I thought it would be. I had to find different ways to bring my body temp down and conserve energy. It forced me to be a more efficient runner; I had to pay attention to my body at all times. Not only did this help me run smarter but it will make me a much better runner back at home!

2. Hydration: Do or Do Not, There Is No Try

Hydrating for at least a week leading up to an event (especially in heat/humidity) is extremely important. Gulping down water the night before a race just isn’t going to cut it. Once the feeling of thirst hits it is too late. I learned that the hard way during the 5k last week. It was NOT fun! Drinking water/electrolyte drinks leading up to an event will get you ready. 

3. Relax: Eat, Sleep and Run

Getting enough sleep, proper nutrition and just straight chillin helps your body to recover and prepare to run hard. Missing meals, stressing out and not relaxing causes our bodies to feel run down and sluggish. When that happens we just can’t expect to perform our best. One of the most important things I learned is to just relax. Running is fun, our world is beautiful and taking the time to take care of myself is the only way I will be able to keep on keepin’ on.

Ok, enough serious talk…

I’m going, going, back, back, to Cali Cali

Flight leaves tomorrow! Home Sweet Home!

One thought on “Running Lessons Learned On The Island

  1. That cup o bananas is looking super scrumptious right now… it must be time for breakfast. (After my run that is, bc I’m gonna take your advice and go now while it’s cool so it doesn’t “break me” this afternoon running in 90 degree weather.)

    I love “Hydration: Do or do not, there is no try.” So true. Too often I do not and I seriously regret it.

    Have a safe flight back home!!

Leave a Reply

