What I Love About Sunday

An Emotional Sunday

Some people say we should just move on from 9/11. I am not one of those people. Like many of you I remember where I was, what the weather was like, and how uncertain our safety was. I was a senior in college, majoring in journalism, working as an intern at a news station. I was sucked in even if I didn’t want to be. I thought I knew so many details from that day but what I didn’t know were the many stories of families who spoke to their loved ones that were on flight 11. That heard the plane crash into the WTC. Whose lives are forever changed in a way so different from the rest of us. Those stories made for a very emotional Sunday and a beautiful service at my Rock Church!

Walking Up To Church
On The Fire Engine That Was The Base For The Flag
Looking Down From The Balcony

Our pastor did a great job of promoting positivity (20,000 lives SAVED) and all that we Β have learned in the past 10 years. I loved it but was exhausted afterwards. The cure? Football and good eats!

What I Love About Sunday

Other than church is family, football, cooking and/or baking. Or cooking and baking. Yeah both. Who doesn’t love comfort food while hanging with family and friends and watching the game? This is a no brainer people.

Getting My Enchilada On

Fiber and Flax. Gotta keep my peeps regular.

Sooooo.Good. There were no left overs. Β Room for desert? Um sure, let me twist your arm.

Those are M&M cookies and caramel nut brownies with Nutella frosting. Yes that is straight Nutella…with star sprinkles…because that is what happens when you have kids. Or a husband that might be a kid. Or maybe, just maybe, those sprinkles were for me.

You HAVE to eat brownies with Nutella at some point in your life. You WILL need a glass of milk and you WILL love it!

Now you know yet another reason why this guy married me

8 thoughts on “What I Love About Sunday

  1. Can I request those in Maui and also request the number of miles you run after you eat that to burn it off? :p I don’t know how we share the same sweet tooth and you are so tiny. πŸ™‚

    1. Tiny?!? HA! It’s called a smoking mirror girl and a cracked out camera πŸ™‚ I bake em for everyone else to eat- I think I get oversweeted tasting them while baking them. It really is a shame, lol! I’ll show you my substitutions to make em low cal in Maui πŸ™‚ YAAAAAAY we’re going to MAUI!!!!!!!!

  2. I love the star sprinkles!! It makes it so fun! And Nutella on brownies?!?! Genius. I don’t know how I haven’t tried this before… and yeah, I bet you need some milk to get that thick goodness down. πŸ™‚
    It was good to remember 9/11… I really can’t believe it’s been 10 years. I’m glad it fell on a Sunday, because being in church was a good way to be able to reflect on all that happened and where we are now and who is watching over us… Anyway, it sounds like your service was really nice.
    The picture with the kiddos on the fire truck is sooo cute!!!

    1. I would have never thought about Nutella on brownies if it wasn’t for my 4 year old! The last time I made them he wanted Nutella in the batter. This time I just slathered it on top. Super rich but so good! πŸ™‚

  3. I love that your pastor went /w the positivity side of 9/11! I am one that thinks we should give it up, though not as in forgot it ever happened, but I HATE dwelling on negative things. I find it really gets not only me down, but everyone else. However, I don’t think remembering something gets people down! so YAY…it’s kinda like remembrance day; I’m not sad on it, just respectful and a little more humble πŸ˜€

    Oh and I agree /w Jess; love the sprinkles (and nutella idea) and the picture of your kiddies /w the fire truck – Logan told me he was envious. lol Also husband shot is AWESOME πŸ™‚

    1. Yes, I loved the positive outlook. I agree that we can’t dwell on what happened. We learned from it and now we can focus on how to keep everyone safe. Although I did like the naive world and being able to go watch planes take off from the gate!

      As soon as we saw the fire trucks my 4 y/o was in awe! A real, life, fire truck!

  4. I love Sundays too, for all those same reasons! Except maybe football, I mean it’s not that I don’t like it…I just don’t love it. Minus BYU football, I’ll always love that. Anyway the real point is we don’t have a tv here, so now that I’m totally off topic…

    NUTELLA AS FROSTING ON BROWNIES?!?!?! How have I been living without this knowledge. Must. Try. Immediately.

    Two more things: 1. The “fiber n flax” about being regular killed me! and 2. I majored in journalism too, that’s awesome!

  5. 20,000 saved….it really is INCREDIBLE. I can’t believe that isn’t talked about more. GO NYFD!!!

    I’m not a church girl, but your church looks incredible. not a bad seat in the house!

Leave a Reply

