When I Feel Fit I Feel Strong!

Today’s Workout

40 minutes spin, 15 min stretching/core, 25 min upper body strength training.

There is a girl who runs on a TM pretty close to me at the gym. This morning we both ended up in the group class room stretching and doing core so I decided to pick her brain. What? I can’t help it. I tend to be a chatty patty! We got on the topic of strength training and she told me she loves to run (she does a lot of 5k races) but hates to strength train. She said that every time she adds it into her routine it actually slows down her race times. Wait, huh?! This totally confused me. Has anyone else lost time in races from strength training? This is the first person I have heard this from so now my wheels are turning!

I love strength training. It makes me feel strong even if I can’t lift more than 10lb free weights! I add it into my workouts at least twice a week and have never found it to be detrimental to my running. If anything it helps me to prevent injuries.

Thoughts on this? I keep meaning to do another strength training post and just haven’t got around to it!

Speaking Of Preventing Injuries

My left Achilles is still sore. It is much better than it was yesterday but the ache is still lingering. Insert GINORMO sad face. I have been icing and compressing and only stretching slightly. I read that overstretching it can actually make it worse. EEEEEK.

Does anyone have any suggestions on strengthening my Achilles? I am working on my calf muscles/stretching but I am thinking there has got to be other exercises to help. I have a 4 mile race this Sunday and as long as there is little to no pain I plan on running. I just don’t want it to get worse. I am really looking forward to my races in MAUI and have some serious marathon training to do for VEGAS! I cannot afford an injury right now! Wait, we can never afford to be injured, right?!

Just For Laughs

This picture just expresses my complete frustration with my race on Sunday the best.  Yes I like to share ugly race photos

Doesn’t it look like I am saying ” REALLY? A HILL? REALLY?” It also looks like I am not moving. Niiiicccceeeeee!

Again, any recommendations on how to strengthen my Achilles would be greatly appreciated!

9 thoughts on “When I Feel Fit I Feel Strong!

  1. I always thought strength-training helped to prevent injury as well… I still plan on doing it because – like you – it makes me feel fit and strong and I love the feeling I get from strength-training. I don’t THINK I’ve ever lost time on a race because of it, but then again I’ve always lifted weights and ran so I guess I don’t know, maybe I’d be faster if I stopped?

  2. That’s a new one for me. I’ve always thought and read that strength training helps improve times.

    Race pic is funny! I think it definitely represents what you were feeling at the time…”That is really a freakin’ hill…great, just great.” 🙂

  3. I’m casting my vote with everyone else that strength training improves your running times and decreases you chances of injury, but you have to be smart about it. Some lifts are more beneficial than others for running. It would take some serious bulking up before it hurt your times. As far as achilles injury… Yes! I know some great strengthening exercises, but my biggest advice would be to not run through this one. Take a few days off and cross train, then add in the strengthening exercises and stretching, bc it can turn from slight pain into months of rehab pretty easily. (at least in my experience… More so than any other injury I’ve had.) but the good news is that if you catch it early, take a bit if time off, ice and strengthen it, it should be a fairly easy fix. I’ll take some pictures of the exercises my college trainers taught me and link them here when I get home from work. Good luck! And sorry about the novel… I just know how you feel… 🙂

    1. Ahhhh thank you! I appreciate it so very much! My battle with PF was not fun and it took months of therapy and it felt like it would never resolve. I definitely do not want to deal with another lingering injury!!!

      1. Sorry, this took so long… I threw together a quick post with what I know about achilles and some strengthening exercises… I just went through one last year. Boo. It sounds like you’ve caught it in time, though… so you’re already doing a lot better than I usually do. Best of luck. And I love reading your blog.

  4. Haha! Great running shot. 😉 I haven’t had a running shot taken of me, but I can pretty much guarantee it wouldn’t be attractive. I’ve seen several photos of me singing and those are always awful, haha! Anyway, you look determined in that shot, so no worries! 🙂

Leave a Reply

