Pickin up the pace

Today’s Run: 5 mi, 37:xx

After putting in more than 9 hours at Disneyland yesterday I wasn’t sure that I would make it out of the door this morning. Total Mickey hangover.

I headed down to the Rock around 7:30 to meet up with the crew. Please do not enlarge this photo. I do not wear makeup when I run and I don’t want to scare ya. Seriously, you’ve been warned.

 

When I got there I learned that today was going to be a fast 5-miler. I really wanted to do more but my small world headache wasn’t having it. Laced up and we were off.

There was 3 of us leading the pack for the first 2 miles. It felt good to be pacing with the boys. They challenge me to push myself because they are so dang fast. After mile 2 my buddy Ryan pulled ahead, I kept about 20 seconds behind, and Daniel then paced about 60 seconds behind me. We hit the turn around on Harbor Island and I was steady at a 7:00 pace. Then I hit the headwind on the way back. It felt good but it also meant slowing down and I was ok with that. This is a training run, not a race, right? 

Hit the overpass that brings us back home and tried to pick it up a bit. I finished in 37:xx and an average of a 7:27 pace.

As soon as I was done the headache came back. I immediately knew I was dehydrated. STUPID ME! Argh. Once I get to this point it’s too late. I drank some coconut water and headed back to the casa. Headache is still lingering 5 hours later. Not sure how I am going to get it to go away unless I sleep. I am going to try out the new Powerbar Iron Man sports drink that I picked up at the RRS Adventure Run. Anyone have any other suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Pickin up the pace

Leave a Reply

