Change of Events

Alarm went off at 4 am. Got my stuff together, hopped on my bike and made my way to Balboa Park. Holy people. This race is huge. I met up with my 2 best friends and The Rock Runners for prayer and headed to my corral.

At this point I knew my foot was sore. I knew I should be on the sidelines cheering and not running. It was too late, I was there and I was not turning back.

The gun went off and it only took about 2 minutes for me to cross the start. Got to mile 1 and started to feel the soreness. No sharp pain, but sore. I picked up the pace because it usually is worse when I go slow. I AM DUMB. Period. Mile 2 felt ok, once I got to the 5k mark I knew the marathon was not going to happen. I hit mile 3 at a 7:50 pace and made a deal with myself to slow down and cut over with the halfers.

Got to the split and a lady was yelling “Marathoner’s Left” as loud as humanly possible. I smiled and turned right. So bummed, but I had to do it.

Ran on the craptastic Highway 163 for too long. I realized at mile 6 I had to pee, yet I had not yet had a sip of water. Sigh. Took a gel at 8 to try to help my cause but it was pointless. I could feel hobble nation setting in. At 10.5 I pulled over and used the porta potty. I have never done that at a half. I didn’t care I was about to pee my pants. Took my sweet time and when I came out I was gimping. Typically the last few miles is when my second wind kicks in. Today I was praying to see the finish. When I turned the last corner and saw the finish line I was so freaking happy. And disappointed. But mostly happy. I was a total fool and ran when I shouldn’t have and pulled it off.

Finish on my watch 1:53:17. I think my official time was 1:54. How did I finish under 2 hours while limping and gimping and stopping to pee? I have no idea. Pure luck.

Things I learned today:

* NEVER RUN WHILE INJURED

* When there is not a cloud in the sky on a June morning in SD it is certain to feel HOT. Maybe running naked should be legal. NOT.

I was so glad that I got to spend time with my girlfriends who both did great! Cam’s goal was to finish running and she did! Gretchen PR’d! GO GIRL! Is having fun with my girls more important than proving something to myself? Yee-haw, you know it.

BUT…

Am I disappointed? YES. Do I feel like I failed myself? YES. Did I cry more than once? Sure did. I can’t help it. I am HARD on myself. Aren’t we all? I have been running for months to get ready for THIS race. This is my home course. This was my chance to prove to myself that I have improved since last year. No chance. Cutting over with the halfers hurt my heart. Even worse? Progressively doing worse because I have not let my foot heal. I CAN ONLY BLAME ME. Did good come from this? YES! I will never again race with a foot injury. Period. End of report.

Thank you for the kind emails/facebooks/texts today! They made me warm and fuzzy inside! I will do a race review on the half and you can decide if you want to partake in the festivities next year. I leave you with some smiles:

The Three Amigos

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Change of Events

  1. You are still my hero and so blessed to have my 2 best friends waiting for me when I was finished!! 🙂 I could learn a thing or 2 about injuries too. Love you girly!

  2. That piece on the 163 is miserable – I think that’s what made me decide to never do SD RnR again (this was back in 2003, it’s been a loooong time).

    At least you didn’t try to run the full – I have no idea how you managed 1:53 with an injured foot. Half the time, I manage a 1:53 on healthy legs 🙂

    Hope you are enjoying the rest of your day!

    1. It is miserable. They changed the course so you are on it longer. Makes zero sense.

      Glad I didn’t act like a total fool and try. It would have been a huge mistake, that’s for sure! Time to ice and get my MTV Movie Awards on!!!

  3. You did the right thing and listened to that foot! Great job on the half!! 🙂

    Rest that foot… that’s an order!! 🙂

    “Have a great evening!!”

  4. I’m so behind on reading, I can’t believe I’m just getting to this post! First of all: good, true, hard lesson. But the tricky part, is sometimes it is actually hard to tell if you are injured or if you’re body is just scaring you (I truly couldn’t tell before my last marathon if my knee was injured or phantom injured. it was somewhere in between).

    second: that’s a crazy fast time or an injured girl. Can’t wait to see you kill it once you are 100%!

    1. Ahhhh thanks girl. This literally sucks but what can I do? Tough lesson to learn. I just hope some rest can get me back on track. For now I will live vicariously through your speedy self!!!

Leave a Reply

