Count Your Blessings

Today’s run: 6.2 miles, TM run, had the tunes cranked loud!

I have been working on a mid-foot strike (I naturally strike with my forefoot) and the TM has been the perfect place to do so. My calves are a little tight, but other than that, no complaints. I hope this helps eliminate some of the stress on my plantar fascia. For speed repeats or short runs forefoot striking doesn’t hurt it, but for my long runs is contributing to the PF.

Foot is holding up so we will see what the doc says this afternoon! I am gearing up for a nice long run this weekend. Yippeee! It’s been too long since I have been able to do so!

~

On the serious front, I found 2 weeks ago  out that a friend of mine was diagnosed with cancer. She didn’t know what kind, what stage, or what the treatment plan might be. She said she felt healthy! Not one bit sick, how could she have cancer when she felt fine? What did I say to her? WE WILL BE PRAYING FOR YOU MY FRIEND.

While I have sat and complained about my foot, or worried about a little ache, or ya-ya’d about my crappy half marathon finish she has been thinking about how long she has left to live.  While I fight to figure out how to get my team at work on track, she is trying to figure out how to FIGHT LIKE HECK to beat this. Today I found out that things are not looking good. Puts a lot into perspective.

This is just a reminder for all of us to count our blessings. Now go hug your family then get outside and run!!

 

9 thoughts on “Count Your Blessings

  1. This brought tears to my eyes. I will say a prayer for Nicolies friend. It definitely does put things in perspective.

Leave a Reply

