Dumb Dumb Dumb

Today’s Workout:  5 mi TM run (w/u, 2 x 1600, c/d); 20 min core

Is it legal to have a zapper put into my arm like a microchip? It would be awesome if I could have something that could identify when I have a BAD idea and then it would send a little shock. You know, a perma-reminder that says “Hey, dumb a#$, don’t even think about it.” Genius.

Example: I say out loud to myself  “I should run 20 miles today even though my longest run in the past few weeks was only 15”  ZAP

It could be some sort of self torture- but it would help in times like today.

I decided to give speedwork a go today. Now you understand why I question the zapper. My brain is ready for speed work, my legs are ready for speed work, my foot is not. It’s not bad, it’s not killing me, but it’s not happy. DUMB DUMB DUMB I know. Let me justify why I did it. I wanted work on endurance before Sunday in knowing I haven’t been getting as many miles again. Did that work? No, not for me either. I have a follow up with the good doc manana so I’ll let him work his Mr.Miyagi magic and keep speed workouts in my back pocket for a later date.

~

Has anyone ever used the Runners World Smart Coach? I have a friend prepping for her first 10k so we went online to check it out today. It asks you to input a bunch of info and then comes up with a plan. Because I couldn’t help myself I put in my info to prep for the OC Marathon which is 2 weeks from Sunday. Here is what it gave me:

WEEK 1: 30 Mi
Wed Apr 13 Tempo Run Dist: 8 Mi, inc Warm; 6 Mi @ 8:16; Cool
Thu Apr 14 Easy Run Dist: 8 Mi @9:34
Sat Apr 16 Long Run Dist: 14 Mi @9:34
WEEK 2: 47 Mi
Mon Apr 18 Easy Run Dist: 8 Mi @9:33
Tue Apr 19 Easy Run Dist: 8 Mi @9:33
Wed Apr 20 Speedwork Dist: 7 Mi, inc Warm; 4×1600 in 7:35 w/800 jogs; Cool
Thu Apr 21 Easy Run Dist: 8 Mi @9:33
Sat Apr 23 Long Run Dist: 16 Mi @9:33
WEEK 3: 38 Mi
Tue Apr 26 Easy Run Dist: 4 Mi @9:32
Wed Apr 27 Speedwork Dist: 4 Mi, inc Warm; 2×1600 in 7:33 w/800 jogs; Cool
Fri Apr 29 Easy Run Dist: 4 Mi @9:32
Sun May 1 Marathon Race Day 26.2 Mi @8:29 Time: 3:42:23

Hmmmmmm. Interesting. It would be hard for me to run at a 9:30 pace because it’s not natural. That would be forcing myself to run slower which I think would be detrimental to my training. With my luck I’d hurt myself!

 I have never stuck to a “Training Plan” but I do like the idea of this Smart Coach. I think this would be great for a new runner that needs guidance on building mileage. If you want to try it out click HERE. I think it makes you set up a Runners World account that takes a whopping 2 seconds and is free.

~

I have another giveaway that I will announce on Friday. For those of you in the greater SD area, don’t forget that tomorrow is the RRS Thursday Adventure Run. Good times will be had by all!

2 thoughts on “Dumb Dumb Dumb

  1. Hmm. I just checked it out to see what it would give me – for 8 weeks till race day. Interested it has me running at a pace of 12:35 mile and the strange thing is runs during the week are mild, with some days being only 2 miles!!! I might try it, since my last run my ankle started hurting. We will see where it takes me (: Thanks for sharing the link.

Leave a Reply

