You can eat this, or you can eat that

I love food. I wish I could be one of “those” people who eat whatever, whenever and don’t gain an ounce. My Italian genes just aren’t that kind! I have to watch what I eat and I keep a pretty strict/healthy diet. However, when I get the chance to indulge I go for it. Why not? I figure we should reward ourselves every now and again!

(These are my raspberry filled cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. Total YUM. If I ate them everyday I’d be in trouble).

I get a lot of healthy living/eating emails. I am talking a ridiculous number. Like I need to unsubscribe but I am too lazy to do so. However today’s “18 supermarket lies revealed” caught my eye. I am a big time label reader. I know that manufactures try to trick us with statements like “Fat Free” and “Good Source of Fiber.”  We don’t buy a lot of “boxed foods” in our house but when we do I am pretty picky.

Here are some of the  “Revealed Lies” from the Eat This, Not That website:

* Organic Junk Food: The Truth: It’s organic so it must be healthy, right? Not so much. For an extra 60 cents per box, consumers save 20 calories and 1 gram of fat. They also gain 2 grams of sugar, 1 gram of fiber, and 50 milligrams of sodium and they lose 6 percent of their daily iron. The point is, even organic junk food is still junk food. Your body processes organic refined flour and powdered cheese the same way it does conventional, so at the end of the day it’s still a high-calorie, low-nutrient letdown.

What You Really Want: If you must have mac, pick one with a label that reads like the recipe you’d use to fix it at home. Annie’s line of macaroni and cheese contains about eight ingredients per box and cuts the fat by 72 percent over Kraft Organic.

* I am an organic veggies/fruit buyer. I love that they covered organic “junk food”

*All Natural Flavors: The FDA doesn’t have a definition for this claim. Case in point: 7UP now boasts that it’s made with 100 percent natural ingredients. That’s because they’ve switched from carbonated water to filtered water, from citric acid to natural citric acid, and from calcium disodium EDT to natural potassium citrate. Got it? Here’s the kicker: The soft drink is still sweetened with high-fructose corn syrup, which can’t be made without the help of a centrifuge.

What You Really Want: A healthy choice, like lemon and seltzer. 7UP’s tactic is employed primarily by companies making junk food (see also: Natural Cheetos). Considering that the calorie counts are nearly always identical with their “unnatural” brethren (in the case of 7UP, calories and sugar counts are the exact same), concentrate on the bigger issues and find reliably healthy drinks and snacks.

*Unnatural Fruit: While the FDA requires manufacturers to disclose the use of artificial flavoring on the front of the box, the requirements for what is considered “natural” and “real” are not strict: Even trace amounts of the essence or extract of fruit counts as natural. So yes, there is fruit in this bar, but it falls third in the ingredients list, behind HFCS and corn syrup.

What You Really Want: An honest snack with nothing to hide. Lärabars, one of our favorite snacks in the aisle, are made with nothing more than dried fruit and nuts.

Larabars are reallllly good. I tried them at a health expo and LOVED.

Lets face it, we are not all a bunch of Stepford Wives. We eat what we eat and do the best we can to take care of ourselves. Do I avoid everything BAD? No. I love food too much to just cut out everything other than what comes from the ground. However, I make a conscious effort to take care of myself and my family so we can all be like Charlie Sheen and live to be in our 90s.

Way to go Dude. Seriously.How’s that Tiger Blood?

3 thoughts on “You can eat this, or you can eat that

  1. Can you please mail me a cupcake or have them ready and waiting when I am down there in June? The look so yummy!! We share the same sweet tooth sister!!

Leave a Reply

