EGel vs. The Hammer

So I have been using EGel for the past year.  I don’t really remember how I came across it- I think it may have been on the Active website. Anywho- have loved it, never had any problems, etc etc etc.  Well, I got a wild hair up my butt a few weeks ago and decided to order Hammer Gel. I know- I”M PRETTY WILD! I had a few peeps tell me that they tasted good so I figured why not?

The order of  Hammer Gel arrived along with a bunch of other stuff! SWEET! Click here to see that post. Last weekend I decided to bust out the Hammer gel and try it on the long run.

I started with the Espresso flavor:

Let me preface this by saying I LOOOOOVE Coffee. I mean really love it.  The drink, ice cream, you name it. I love it enough to buy a gel that is coffee flavored. 

I HATED it. H-A-T-E-D. Sorry Hammer- it’s not you, it’s me. The consistency was thick and gritty and the taste lingered. SO DISAPPOINTED. I really wanted to like it.  As far as energy was concerned I was so caught up in my dislike that I didn’t notice. I will say that I didn’t feel like it helped with hydration at all.

Next up- Vanilla:

Much better! I am still not used to the thick consistency but the taste is good. It’s not too sweet and was a nice little pick me up as I was starting to wind down.

Last I had Raspberry

My favorite of the three! Taste was good and I had it near the end of my run so was just enough to get me through. Like the Espresso, I didn’t feel like it necessary helped me with hydration, it was more of a fuel type pick me up.

At this point I am sticking with EGEL. If they give out Hammer Gel at a race I’ll use it.  I like the EGEL because nutritionally it has more in it and I feel like I can run longer without needing another pack. It’s an electrolyte gel. MUY BUENO.

Here is the side by side comparison between the two from the Crank Sports website:

 
  
    e-Gel Hammer Gel
 Carbohydrates

  Calories 150 91
  Carb Grams 37 g 23 g
  Carb Sources Maltodextrin
Fructose
Maltodextrin
Juice Concentrate
  Sugars 18% 9%

 Electrolytes    
  Sodium 230 mg 23 mg
  Potassium 85 mg 0 mg

 Amino Acids    
  Histidine no
  Leucine
  Valine
  Isoleucine

 Citrates    
  Sodium Citrate no
  Potassium Citrate no
  Citric Acid no

 Antioxidants    
  Vitamin A 120% 0%
  Vitamin C 120% 0%

 Other Ingredients    
  Vitamin B6 10% 0%
  Caffeine none none*

 

If you are looking for fewer calories, you may want to go with the Hammer Gel. I am not on a diet and need MORE when it comes to endurance during the long run. I think that the Hammer Gel in concert with another one of their products may help. I am a “less is more” type person so I am not into having to carry any more than I already do. So EGEL it is!

Ahhhh- I did try the Hammer Recoverite post run and DID LIKE IT! I will discuss after I try another flavor this weekend. 

~

Do you have a go to source for fuel when running/exercising? What are your likes/dislikes?

One thought on “EGel vs. The Hammer

Leave a Reply

