SD Hot Chocolate 15k Race Recap

So if you are on Twitter you saw me all yippy-kai-yay yesterday about a new PR at the Hot Chocolate 15k. And I did it on this course

BUT, before we discuss the race…

On Saturday afternoon I decided I DID NOT feel like running. I had a hard week and I was just plain feeling lazy. Getting up at 4:30 a.m sounded like a HORRIBLE idea. I knew this course was going to be hilly and I was all boo-hoo about it. Total wimp.

Alarm went off on Sunday and I stomped my way to the coffee pot. Legs felt heavy and I was still all cry baby wimpy. Had a major talk with myself about how a bad attitude will make for a bad race. I can either suck it up and do it or if I am going to be a debbie downer I can just head back to bed.

So I decided to suck it up. I showered, drank a couple of cups of coffee and put my game face on. I headed downtown and found street parking really quickly. I found Chacha on a street corner. Ok, kidding. She texted me that she was standing on the corner so that we could walk to the start area together.

There was a ton of portapotties so we stopped there first. We then made our way to the schwag for sale tent to stay warm. We saw Ashley and Phil and their family/friends so we all hung out together until the start.

Once it was time to go I checked my bag (so easy) and we headed to Corral A. We were there for maybe 5ish minutes when I met Ciry. Thanks for saying hi! We then found our friends Margot, SR and Emily.

I super stole these photos from SR. Thanks guuuurrrrllll!

DSCN9271

DSCN9272

Being around friends that just makes running more fun. Goodbye grumpy gus it’s time to runnnnnn.

My plan was to try to stay around an average pace of 7:30 if possible. As you saw above I knew what I was in for so I wasn’t going to beat myself up if I ran 8′s.

When the gun went off it was an immediate uphill. I could hear everyone’s breathing sounding all cray so I felt comfort in knowing I wasn’t the only one feeling it. I had my headphones with me and decided to leave them off unless I needed them.

Miles 1-4 were all uphill with mile 4 being the toughest climb. Around 5 we started to climb again and I decided to turn on music as I knew we had a good downhill stretch coming I wanted to start to kick it into gear. At 6.5-7 we got a sweet downhill that felt so good. I thought we might be nearing the end of hill climbing as we entered the Golden Hill area of San Diego. Oh yeah, it’s called golden HILL. Ha! We had another climb through mile 8 and then let the sweet downhill to the finish begin.

Man it was such a reward to get that downhill at the end. Although we did have to run through homeless tunnel and it was kind of creepy. I think it made all of us kick it up a notch just to get out of there.

As I approached the finish I looked at my watch and knew I was going to PR!

I crossed in 1:10:48, average pace of 7:35, 44th woman, 10th in my age group. A new PR by 1 min 40 seconds! WOOT!

I had my hubby take a pic of the back of this awesome new tank I am rocking by ViewSport. It is sweat activated (or for me I dump water on my neck at each aid station) and is so freaking awesome

Yes that says “CHASE ME.” Did it give people on the course motivation? I hope so!

After cheesing it up with my grin for a few minutes I congratulated my friends for all killing that course (I think there were several PRs) and headed to get my chocolate. I finally got to see my friend OUAL right before taking off. That girl ran 11 miles before the race and then went and ran the 15k like it was no big deal. Rockstar. I also got to meet Meggie! Hey girl! So nice to meet you :)

I had my doubts going into this race and came out feeling like a stronger runner. March has been a GREAT month for me. It has me excited to see what is in store for the rest of the year. I need to focus on staying healthy and being smart and if I can do it this it could be one heck of a 2012!

~

Anyone else run the Hot Chocolate 5k/15k this weekend? Thoughts? Reviews?

I will post my review this week sometime :)

Congrats to my friends that ran the Dallas RNR 1/2!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to SD Hot Chocolate 15k Race Recap

  1. Great job on the race! Congratulations on the PR :D

  2. awesome job!! that’s a big PR jump! way to go!!! Not only did you pull off a PR when you felt blah, but you look totally cute in striped Lulu shorts! you should know that I’m very jealous right now ;) Hope the good run and good feeling carries with you through the week!!!

  3. Yay! Great job on the PR chica!! And I WANT that top. :-)

  4. brokerunner says:

    Congrats! And that shirt is so rad!

  5. runwiki says:

    Congratulations on an excellent race.. your a stud! woo hoo

  6. Erika says:

    Yay! Congrats on the PR…woohoo!
    I ran it and since I am a newer runner, those hills were tough! I was in Corral C and we all kept a pretty steady pace but when that “Golden Hill” hit, no one was running. I think that hill kind of took us all by surprise. Oh well. I did think it was super organized and so easy to get to. Had fun most importantly!! Wrote about it on my blog.
    Congrats again!!

  7. samHOTmess says:

    that tank is so sweet!

    Congrats on a good race!

  8. Stephanie says:

    Love the tank!! and congrats on the PR!

  9. chacha says:

    Good work turning the bad attitude around! It’s not easy to kick yourself out of a funk. And then you kicked yourself into a PR! Sweeet.

    And people’s breathing was all crazy right away – I think I held myself back a bit in those first two miles because I was worried I was going to crash and burn the way my breathing heart rate shot up. I remember thinking that I was feeling like I was running a 5K and that was not good since it’s 3-times as long.

    • Gaw, I felt the same way! At that last climb I wanted to just stop and walk. I knew if I did it would be over and my pace would be shot. Dang that was a tough course but as crazy as it was I am considering using parts of it for training. If we ran like that all of the time we would be killing flat courses. With a capital K!

  10. jenny says:

    SUPER JOB WELL DONE!!!! i can only dream of running sub 8′s. you’re fantastic!

  11. Running Girl says:

    Congrats on the PR!!!! Awesome work. And, love the way you talked yourself into a good attitude – I need those kind of self talks myself on some days. :-)

  12. hkc says:

    Congrats! You ran such a great race! I only did the 5k, so now I feel like a wimp!

  13. fitinwoodbine says:

    Congrats!!! What a great race!! The weather looked awesome too!!

  14. Awesome PR!!! I ran into Balboa Park and went up one hill and thanked GOD I was not running the race – I imagine it was hard!

    So nice meeting you, too! I think I need to come back to SoCal for a race or for my residency (I’m in medical school) – sunshine all the time ain’t too shabby.

    Still love the top and want to order! Adorable!

  15. cardioqueencourtney says:

    You are just a PR Queen these days! Congrats!! :) You totally deserve all the PR’s you’re getting!

  16. SkinnyRunner says:

    youre the cutest little bad mood bear ive seen :) congrats on the PR, you were killing it.

    and yeah, homeless row was a little sketch.

  17. Laura says:

    Congrats on the PR! Love that shirt!

  18. Nice job lady! It was so good to see you and your adorable fam.

  19. ciritadg says:

    Hi Nicole! It was super nice to finally meet you! Congratulations on your PR! What a crazy roller-coaster course!

  20. Michelle says:

    First off, I am in love with your tank! I think I need one of those. Huge PR on what sounds like a tough course! Awesome job!

  21. Ricole Runs says:

    PR PR PR PR PR PR PR!!! Congrats, that’s so awesome! And on such a hilly tough course after not even feeling like running!

  22. pamula2000 says:

    CONGRATS ON YOUR PR!! love your shirt! :)

    “YOU GO GIRRRRL!!!!” :))

  23. Mrs.CJ says:

    Love your shirt! Congrats on the PR!

  24. Lindsay says:

    Viewsport was just on shark tank and they didn’t invest! Dummies.

  25. Pingback: Yoga With Friends and a VLOG « Haute Running Mama

  26. Pingback: Summer Running, Marathon Prepping and what not « Haute Running Mama

  27. Pingback: Twenty-13 « Haute Running Mama

Leave a Reply

