SD Half Race Recap

I am not sure why I like to run races on daylight savings. Losing an hour of sleep is hard, and having to run a race when that happens is even harder.

Alarm went off at 4:45 (which is really 3:45 right?), I showered, coffeed and eye blacked. That’s right, I’m hardcore.

Kidding. Not hard-core at all. The race started and ended at Petco Park so it was super necessary to bring out my inner ball player (what, you didn’t know I’m an ex-softball playa? Diamonds are a girls best friend!).

I made my way downtown and parked within 5 minutes. That’s unheard of and I was stoked. As I was gathering my stuff I realized I left my tunes at home. Ahhh! So bummed because I planned on turning them on when we hit the big climb around mile 8. It was then and there that I had a pep talk with myself. All of my PR’s have been tuneless, today is going to be the day to lay the hammer down.

As I was walking to the start I saw that the Mariott was open. I headed in, stayed warm and used the bathroom. Genius. I couldn’t believe that nobody else was doing this. Why wait for a porta potty when you can use a clean hotel restroom!

At 6:45 I met up with the Rock Runners for prayer and then made my way to Wave 1. Found Pam and SR and we chatted until it was time to take off!

We ran around downtown for the first 5k. It was flat and fast with some sharp turns.

1 7:23.9 1.00 7:24
2 7:22.5 1.00 7:22
3 7:26.8 1.00 7:27

I hit the 5k around 23 minutes and was feeling surprisingly strong. My original plan was to go out around 8-8:15 but the 7:20’s felt ok!

Miles 4-6 were by the harbor and into Point Loma. I felt like I was pushing a little hard so I eased up and got comfortable. I knew we had a big climb coming.

4 7:33.2 1.00 7:33
5 7:29.4 1.00 7:29
6 7:29.0 1.00 7:29

I continued to try to just stay on pace. 7-10 is where we went from flat to climbing.  7-8 were fast miles, 9-11 were tough. When I say tough I meant it. I think our elevation gain was close to 400 feet. Should of hill trained more!

7 7:32.3 1.00 7:32
8 7:37.8 1.00 7:38
9 8:32.2 1.00 8:32
10 8:53.6 1.00 8:54
11 7:58.8 1.00 7:59

I was so ticked that miles 9-10 got me off track. It was time to make it up in a big way. 12-finish was down and fast. I nailed it.

12 7:26.7 1.00 7:27
13 7:14.1 1.00 7:14
14 1:17.0 0.21 6:12

Yes that  last bit says 6:12. I was sprinting. I may have thought I was going to barf.

Official finish time…

1:41:09.

That’s more than a 5 min PR! WOOT!

After getting through the finish line stuff I met up with Pam and SR who were celebrating big PR’s (1:34!) and being harassed by my kids. Thanks friends for putting up with my crazies :)

After dealing with my hip issues it felt so good to run a strong race. It gave me a lot of confidence and left me feeling all in love with running again. After today I know I can break 1:40…and I know a certain marathon is calling my name!

~

Race review and expo coming in my next post!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to SD Half Race Recap

  1. Ricole Runs says:

    So So So So SOO fast! So awesome to get a PR by such a big gap! CONGRATS!

  2. BECKA says:

    Amazing job! I’d barf at 6:12 for sure.

  3. Shannon says:

    Way to go!! You’re so awesome!

  4. WOW, good for you and great time!!

  5. Yay Yay Yay Yay! I’ve been reading for awhile, but this is the first time I have commented! Congratulations on your PR! :D

  6. Great job on PRing! And great push on the home stretch. Looks like you made it worth missing the extra sleep.

  7. Pingback: #LRhatersanonymous–The First 20+ | Once Upon a (L)ime

  8. jaymee says:

    congratulations nicole! p.s. i want to be ripped like you when im a mama.

  9. Wow! What a great race. You did fantastic, super speedy! Congratulations it sounds like everything came together for you.. nice work!

  10. Amy says:

    Congratulations! I know after battling all your injuries that this was an awesome race for you and so well-deserved :)

    I’m an ex-softball player, too!

    And, what certain marathon are you speaking of? :)

  11. chacha says:

    That hill must have been real pain in the butt – and you still ran crazy fast! flat course, and you’re all over a 1:3x.

    Congrats!

    Oh, and if all your PRs have been tuneless – does that mean you’ll try to run a marathon without music? I mean, it’s doable, but that would be rough!

    • Eeeek. Not sure about 26.2 with nothing but my thoughts. We shall see about that. Usually around 13 or so I need a motivator. Maybe I’ll stick my shuffle in my belt and bust it out when needed? Oh who knows.

  12. bestiecam says:

    Go momma Go! So proud of you. Can’t wait to get my next PR. 6: 12, really? You are amazing!

  13. Congratulations! 5 minute PR is amazing!
    And wow. 6:12 for your last mile? That’s amazing :D
    Glad you had a great race!

  14. SkinnyRunner says:

    you’re insane, girl. 5 minutes!?!?!?!

    congrats!

    and your fam is just too dang cute.

  15. Emily says:

    Congratulations on an amazing race!

    I found your blog through Skinny Runner, and was reading about your hip injury. Thank you so much for posting about some of your physical therapy exercises, especially the clams. Last year I was in physical therapy for some knee issues. But, my PT worked on some of my other muscle imbalances as well, including my hips, and also had me doing clams. I recently started experiencing some hip and pelvic pain from running, and had forgotten all about those clams until reading it on your blog. Now I’m back to doing them and looking forward to positive results!

    Fingers crossed, but you’ve potentially saved me another trip back to the doctor and PT! =)

  16. I ran the SD Half yesterday too! I also got up at 4:45 and I was glad to get up because I was so anxious! I just started running 10 weeks ago and this was my first race ever! I fininshed in 2:10 but next time I would like to break the 2 hour mark and finish just before then. The hill was killer, most people were walking up it, but I kept running. It was great running into the city! Great time!

    • Woohoo! Congrats! Look at what you accomplished in 10 weeks! Go on girl! I agree it was a great race. The hill was a challenge but made the end even sweeter right? I was texting with one of my friends that helped organize the race and told her I have a beef with the hill and can’t wait to take it on next year :)

  17. girlsthatrun says:

    Congrats on the PR! And I’m digging the hardcore baseball look. I might need to try that if it helps me get a PR :)

  18. Pam says:

    CONGRATS multiplied by a BIG FAT #5!!! (5min. PR) :) soo happy for you! I know I’ve already told you this a million times but, it is a big deal! PR’s don’t come easy. What you put in is what you take out and you did such a great job with training leading up to this race! You’re a great motivator on DM, runner, mommy & friend!! YOU GO GIRRRL!! Looking forward to smashing your marathon PR in the near future! :)

    btw I hope the pasta was good!! :) see you again soon! HUGS!!

    • Pam says:

      …”looking forward to HEARING about you smashing your marathon PR.” my previous sentence didn’t sound right?! :) You know what I mean! :) luv ya!!

      • Ahahaha! Totally get it :) Thank you Pam! You did great on Sunday. So very proud of you. I can’t wait for your big race this weekend. You are going to crush LA! CRUSH!!!

        Thanks for always being there for me. I am so lucky to have you as a friend!

  19. janae@hungryrunnergirl.com says:

    MORE THAN A 5 MINUTE PR…girl, you are incredible!! WAY TO GO and I love the face paint!

  20. Awesome, congrats on the PR!

  21. ciry says:

    Big congrats Nicole! Woooohoooo, you are speedy! I <3 <3 <3 this race!

  22. Ali says:

    One Word……A*(Freaking)*M*A*Z*I*N*G!!! :)

  23. Wow! CONGRATULATIONS! I know I’m a few days behind in saying this, but why not keep the happiness and excitement rolling! You totally rocked that race, and I hope to be as fast as you one day! Hooray!!

  24. Way to GO!!!! Show that PR who’s BOSS!!! Congrats! I bet you’re still a high on your results (don’t worry, the rest of us would be if we were you!) Hopefully you recovered well and didn’t have any flare-ups! =)

  25. Pingback: Yoga With Friends and a VLOG « Haute Running Mama

  26. Pingback: online mlm sponsoring

  27. Pingback: Summer Running, Marathon Prepping and what not « Haute Running Mama

  28. Pingback: Twenty-13 « Haute Running Mama

  29. Pingback: 4th of July 15k and a bunch of other stuff | Haute Running Mama

Leave a Reply

